• A
  • A
  • A

Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU)

Omicron Kappa Upsilon had its inception with the class of 1914 at Northwestern University Dental School. It is a National Honor Society consisting of Dental Students exclusively. Admission and membership to OKU is based upon scholarship and character as manifested by election by the faculty.

The name of this Dental Honor Society was selected from the Greek Words - Omicron - meaning teeth and Upsilon - meaning health. These letters appear in the design of the key within the larger symbol Sigma - meaning conservation.

In the first year and a half of Omicron Kappa Upsilon's inception, eight (8) new component chapters were organized. Today, there is a component chapter in every dental school in the United Stated for a total of fifty-eight (58) active chapters. In addition, there are two (2) chapters located in Canada and one (1) in Puerto Rico. OKU conducts annual business meetings of the Supreme Chapter and National Symposia on varying topics, such as Professional Ethics, Human Values, Impact of Corporate Health Care on Dentistry and Dental Education.

The Sigma Tau Chapter of Omicron Kappa Upsilon was installed as the National Dental Honor Society at Stony Brook University, School of Dental Medicine on July 1, 1977. The Charter Members were:

Leo M. Sreebny

Burton R. Pollack

H. Barry Waldman

Lloyd Baum

Israel Kleinberg

Louis W. Ripa

Philias R. Garant

Lorne M. Golub

Hershel W. Kaufman

Gary Leske

Joseph Papa

James Sciubba

Mark Swerdloff

Paul M. Baer

Martin Stern