School of Dental Medicine Faculty Receive Top Periodontology Awards for Teaching Excellence

November 2020 – Three faculty members of Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine received national recognition for their talents as educators within the field of periodontology. Honored virtually during the American Academy of Periodontology’s (AAP) Annual Meeting, Dr. Hossein Bassir, Dr. Vincent Iacono, and Dr. Srinivas Myneni strongly represented their Department of Periodontology.  

Composite of headshots of (left to right) Dr. Vincent Iacono, Dr. Srinivas Myneni, and Dr. Hossein Bassir
L-R: Dr. Vincent Iacono, Dr. Srinivas Myneni, Dr. Hossein Bassir
Dr. Bassir was awarded the AAP Teaching Fellowship, a $50,000 award intended to support a young periodontal educator committed to a career in academia. Dr. Bassir recently joined the School of Dental Medicine as Assistant Professor and Director of the Advanced Education Program in Periodontics. He received this award for his exceptional performance within an educational role within three years of beginning as a full-time teacher.  

Dr. Iacono received the AAP Outstanding Periodontal Educator Award, the highest award given to an educator in the field. According to AAP, this award “recognizes an exemplary periodontal faculty member whose career demonstrates excellence in teaching and is an inspiration to students.” Dr. Iacono is the Chair of the Department of Periodontology and Director of Advanced Education Programs at the School of Dental Medicine. He is also a SUNY Distinguished Service Professor and the Tarrson Family Professor of Periodontology. 

Dr. Myneni was awarded the Award for Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring in Periodontics for his demonstrated commitment to excellence in providing education in the full scope of periodontics with enthusiasm relayed to students. Additionally, Dr. Myneni is a previous recipient of the AAP Teaching Fellowship. He serves as Assistant Professor and Director of Periodontal Research for the School of Dental Medicine.  

A School of Dental Medicine alumnus, Dr. Wayne Aldredge, also received a top honor during the virtual meeting: the Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Aldredge, a past President of the AAP, was honored for his commitment to the AAP in more than one area for at least two decades. He completed his postdoctoral program within the School of Dental Medicine in 1999.  

“The honors received by our faculty members from the American Academy of Periodontology are a testament to their commitment to our students and their distinction as talented educators,” said Dr. Allan Kucine, Interim Dean of the School of Dental Medicine. “We are proud of the success of Drs. Bassir, Iacono, Myneni, and Aldredge – each is a bright representation of our world-class institution on the national stage.”