School of Dental Medicine Faculty Members Named Fellows of the American College of Dentists  

October 2020 - Three Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine faculty members were recently named Fellows of the American College of Dentists (ACD). The induction ceremony was held as the organization’s first in a virtual format. In its 100th year, the ACD is among the oldest major honorary organization in dentistry. Its objectives include elevating the standards of the profession.  

"HONORS" written on a graduation stole with a yellow tassel laid over the fabric.According to the ACD, Fellows are “chosen for leadership, model ethics, and service to the profession and to society.” Furthermore, they are expected to be mentors for others. As such, Dr. Thomas Manders, Dr. Georgios Romanos, and Dr. Steven Zove were selected as to join the ACD. Additionally, Dr. Charles Larsen participated in the ceremony following his 2019 acceptance to the organization.  

Dr. Manders serves as Director of the Division of Endodontics, the Advanced Education Program in Endodontics, and Predoctoral Endodontics. Dr. Georgios Romanos serves as Director of LASER education. Dr. Zove serves as Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs. Dr. Larsen serves as Director of the Advanced Education Program in Pediatric Dentistry.  

Previous School of Dental Medicine inductees:  

Dr. Richard Faber 
Dr. Joseph Graskemper 
Dr. Robert Iovino 
Dr. Dimitrios Kilimitzoglou 
Dr. Allan Kucine 
Dr. Steven London 
Dr. Mary Truhlar